Brothers Reinhard and Christian Schmid are passionate about winemaking, and have been involved with it since their early youth. Today they continue to run Weinschmiede, which was founded in 1959, working with unbounded enthusiasm and considerable expertise from their parents’ property in Salgesch.
Reinhard regularly makes the pilgrimage back to Salgesch from his home in Winkel in the Zürcher Unterland to care for his wines and barrels in his role as cellar master. Each new vintage receives all his patience, attention and care, from the grape harvest right through to bottling.
Christian looks after the vineyard, and is busy throughout the year, whether he is pruning the vines or carrying out the harvest. He knows every inch of vine stock on the family-owned estate, and sees the norms of integrated production (IP) as both a challenge and a philosophy.

Pratical information

Monday to Friday
Saturday on demand
Sunday on demand. Thank you for calling before arriving.
French / German
15
Cellar tour / Vineyard tour / Tasting package / Always on demand
Yes
Yes
Salgesch
Tasting on request (max 15. people) 4 wines Fr. 10.- / 6 wines Fr.15.- / 8 wines Fr.20.- / Special cheese and bred from Valais Fr. 15.- / Wineyardtour Fr. 100.-

Die Gebrüder Reinhard und Christian Schmid betreiben Weinbau aus Leidenschaft. Seit frühester Jugend sind sie dabei und führen heute in ihrem Elternhaus in Salgesch die 1959 gegründete Weinschmiede mit uneingeschränktem Enthusiasmus und viel Fachkenntnis weiter.
Wie ein Nomade pilgert der in Winkel im Zürcher Unterland ansässige Reinhard regelmässig zurück nach Salgesch, um dort als Kellermeister seine Weine und Fässer zu hegen und zu pflegen. Jedem neuen Jahrgang schenkt er von der Traubenernte bis zur Flaschenreife seine volle Aufmerksamkeit, Geduld und Liebe.
Christian fungiert als Rebmeister. Vom Rebschnitt bis zur Ernte ist er das ganze Jahr hindurch auf Trab. Er kennt jeden Rebstock der familieneigenen Lagen und die Normen der integrierten Produktion IP sind für Christian Philosophie und Herausforderung zugleich.

Praktische Infos

Montag bis Freitag
Samstag & Sonntag auf Anfrage
Bitte immer vor Besuch anfragen.
Deutsch / Französisch
15
Kellerbesuch / Weinbergführung / Degustationspauschale
Ja
Ja
Salgesch

Prämierte Weine |

  • Medaille
    Weinbezeichnung
    Jahrgang
    Rebsorte
    Wettbewerb
  • Cornalin Terrassenweinbau Salgesch

    2018

    Cornalin

    2020