The Cave Marc-André Rossier was built in 1980 on the same site it occupies today.
Louis had always loved wine and winemaking. For 16 years, he made wine for his own enjoyment and sold his grape harvest to the local merchants. He even went to France to source his Chardonnay plants.
The children of a farmer and winemaker, Louis and Anna came together in 1962 to take on the running of their parents’ land and develop its winemaking sector. François, Anna’s father, had delivered his harvest to businesses in Leytron, while Louis’s father, Joseph, was a founding member of Provins.
In 1980 they decided to market their produce, and, as their business expanded, they gradually built the cellar that stands on the estate today.
Today the wines are sold to private customers and smaller restaurants looking for typical Valais wines. The customer base is located mainly in Western Switzerland, as well as in the regions of Solothurn and Basel.
The vines grow in Saillon and Leytron, though the Hermitage variety grows in Sierre.
The work is done as a family with son Marc-André and daughters Marie-Hélène and Aline.
Before returning to work on the estate, Marc-André studied at the École de commerce de Martigny, the École d’agriculture de Châteauneuf (for basic training in winemaking), and the Haute école de viticulture et d’Oenologie de Changins, as well as completing an apprenticeship as a wine merchant and an internship in an agricultural equipment garage in German-speaking Switzerland (Grunderco Aesch in Lucerne).
In 1989, Marc-André married Philomène Caloz from Fang/Chandolin in Val d’Anniviers.
Philomène completed an apprenticeship as a commercial employee at a trust company.
They are assisted by their four children, Emilie, Caroline, François and Romain, which means there are three generations working to bring you the best possible product.
In 2006, Marc-André and Philomène took over the running of the vineyard.
In autumn 2008, their daughter Caroline began studying to be a wine merchant and wine grower at the École d’agriculture de Châteuneuf. In 2009, she completed internships at the federal agricultural research site in Leytron and the experimental vineyard at the Changins wine school. In 2010 she completed an internship with Louis Hubert at the estate of the City of Bern in La Neuveville.
The next generation is already showing great promise, and its abilities in the areas of tasting and vineyard work bode well for the future of the cellar.
In 2009 we were proud to produce new wines from our harvest which included the Païen, Merlot, Cabernet and Cornalin varieties.
2010 saw the expansion of the cellar and the consolidation of winegrowing and winemaking activities on the Leytron site. A new building was constructed to store the winemaking machinery and to house a small mechanical workshop.
Caroline continued her training in 2010, completing an internship at the estate of the Canton of Valais and receiving her Federal VET Diploma. In 2011, she continued her studies at the Haute école de Changins, receiving her diplomas in winemaking and oenology in 2015, as well as the two federal diplomas in winemaking and oenology.
In 2013, Caroline took charge of Florésie (www.floresie.ch), which is sure to charm your taste buds.
Caroline also brought new ideas back from her various internships, encouraging the family to plant the Divico grape variety in 2015 and, on a trial basis in 2016, a white grape variety which is set to receive its name in 2018. These two disease-resistant seedlings require very little in the way of phytosanitary treatment.
In 2015, the harvest was modernised with the arrival of new and more efficient equipment that improved the quality and speed of the harvest process.
2017 saw the arrival of a new press and the creation of a new reception area for guests. It was a bad year for the harvest, though, with 55% being destroyed by the brutal frost that struck the entire canton of Valais. 2017 was also marked by the passing of our founder, Louis, just before the harvest. Louis has moved on to work in the vineyard of our Lord, and we thank him for everything he has given and taught us, and for the wonderful example he set.

Open cellars doors

Take part at the event.
Information from the producer.
Route du Stade 70
1912 Leytron

Pratical information

Monday to Friday
French / German / English
50
Cellar tour / Vineyard tour
Yes
Yes
Riddes
Ancienne Poste Leytron
10
Walk in the wineyard - Bourg de Saillon-Vigne à Farinet-Passerelle with raclette et grills

Awarded wines |

  • Medal
    Dénomination du vin
    Year
    Wine variety
    Competition
  • Cornalin

    2017

    Cornalin

    2018

  • Humagne Rouge

    2017

    Humagne Rouge

    2018

Check the Selection des Vins du Valais contest

La cave Marc-André Rossier a été construite en 1980 sur le site actuel.
Louis a toujours apprécié le vin et la vinification. Durant 16 ans, il a vinifié pour son plaisir et vendu sa récolte en raisin rond à des marchands de la région. Il est même allé chercher les plants de chardonnay en France.
Fils et fille d’agriculteur et de vigneron Louis et Anna s’unirent en 1962 et reprirent les terres de leurs parents en développant le secteur viticole. François, le papa d’Anna, livrait la vendange dans les commerces de Leytron et Joseph, le papa de Louis, a été membre fondateur de Provins.
En 1980, ils décidèrent de commercialiser toute leur production et construisirent la cave actuelle, bien entendu par étapes, en suivant l’évolution de leur commerce.
À l’heure actuelle, les vins sont distribués auprès de privés et de petits restaurateurs recherchant des vins typiques. La clientèle est répartie essentiellement en Suisse romande et dans les régions de Soleure et de Bâle.
Les vignes poussent sur les terres de Saillon, Leytron, ainsi que Sierre pour l’ermitage.
Le travail se fait en famille avec le fils Marc-André et les deux filles Marie-Hélène et Aline.
Avant de revenir au domaine, Marc-André a suivi l’École de commerce de Martigny, l’École d’agriculture de Châteauneuf (formation de base du vigneron), la Haute école de viticulture et d’oenologie de Changins et a effectué finalement un apprentissage de caviste ainsi qu’un stage dans un garage de mécanique agricole en Suisse alémanique (Grunderco Aesch LU).
En 1989, Marc-André épouse Philomène Caloz de Fang/Chandolin en Anniviers.
Philomène a suivi un apprentissage d’employée de commerce dans une fiduciaire.
Leurs quatre enfants (Emilie, Caroline, François et Romain) les entourent. Ce sont donc trois générations qui s’activement pour vous satisfaire au mieux.
En 2006, Marc-André et Philomène reprennent l’exploitation.
À l’automne 2008, la fille Caroline débute ses études de vigneronne-caviste à l’École d’agriculture de Châteuneuf. En 2009, elle effectue un stage à la Station fédérale de recherche agronomique Leytron, un stage à la cave expérimentale de Changins et, en 2010, un stage à la Neuveville sur le domaine de la ville de Berne chez M. Louis Hubert.
La relève pointe déjà à l’horizon et ses capacités pour le travail de la vigne et la dégustation laissent présager un bel avenir pour la cave.
De nouveaux vins ont été présentés avec fierté lors de la récolte 2009, à savoir le païen, le merlot, le carbernet et le cornalin.
L’année 2010 a été marquée par l’agrandissement de la cave et la réunification sur le site de Leytron des activités viticoles et vinicoles. Une halle a été montée afin d’abriter les machines viticoles et un petit atelier mécanique.
Pour Caroline, la formation se poursuit en 2010 par un stage au domaine de l’État du Valais. Elle obtient son CFC. En 2011, elle poursuit ses études à la Haute école de Changins où elle obtient ses diplômes ESP en viticulture et en oenologie en 2015 ainsi que les deux brevets fédéraux en viticulture et oenologie.
En 2013, Caroline reprend la Florésie (www.floresie.ch) qui saura charmer vos papilles.
De ses différents stages, Caroline rapporte de nouvelles idées qui incitent la famille à planter en 2015 le Divico puis, en 2016, à titre d’essai, un plant blanc qui recevra son nom en 2018. Ces deux plants, résistants aux maladies, ne nécessitent que très peu de traitements phytosanitaires.
En 2015, la réception de la vendange est modernisée avec du nouveau matériel plus performant permettant d’améliorer la qualité et la rapidité de traitement de la vendange.
2017 a vu l’arrivée d’un nouveau pressoir et la création d’un nouvel espace pour l’accueil des clients, mais a aussi été une année noire, puisque 55% de la récolte a été détruite par le gel violent qui a sévi sur tout le Valais. 2017 a aussi été marquée par la disparition du fondateur Louis à la veille des vendanges. Louis s’en est allé pour travailler les vignes du Seigneur, et nous le remercions pour tout ce qu’il nous a donné, enseigné et pour son merveilleux exemple.

Caves ouvertes d'automne


De 14.12.2018 à 15.12.2018, 11:00 - 18:00
Visite de la cave

Infos pratiques

Français / Allemand / Anglais
50

 Vins primés |

  • Médaille
    Dénomination du vin
    Millésime
    Cépage
    Concours
  • Cornalin

    2017

    Cornalin

    2018

  • Humagne Rouge

    2017

    Humagne Rouge

    2018

Voir la Sélection des Vins du Valais