History
Edouard, who founded the company in 1984 on the initiative of his sons, had a barrel in his cellar like all the Valaisans. Several vines, a few vegetable crops and some fruit-growing: living the self-sufficiently life called for great ingenuity. So they began to store more and more in the cellar, and the eldest son designed the label and logo, which are still being used today in a slightly revised form.
Philippe and Véronyc, who took over the reins of the company in 1996, readapted the grape varieties to the soil and cultivated their own vines (12 varieties on around 8 hectares spread over more than 30 plots!) in line with integrated production standards and with great respect for the environment.
Our vineyard
– Les Claives is located on dizzyingly steep terraces and has been managed by Edouard since 1964. Over the years the grape varieties have evolved: now the varieties Petite Arvine, Ermitage and Syrah thrive here.
– The Les Mûres domain in the region of Mazembre produces mainly Gamay – from nearly 40-year-old vines – but also Petite Arvine. This domain is situated on the moraine deposits of the Beudon mountain stream. The soil is calcareous and very different from that of Les Claives.
– And then there is also Saxon on the left bank… Part of it is on the Route de Sapinhaut below La Tour, where Pinot Noir, Bamaret, Chardonnay and Pinot Gris (Malvoisie) are grown. There is also the Ritz domaine with Pinot Noir and above all Fendant. The main difference between the two river banks is the sunshine in September, the decisive month for grape ripening. The early grape varieties need a mild climate and oblique sunlight during this period, while the late varieties still need a lot of warmth and light. In September the sun rises in Saxon at 11am, in Fully at 8am….

Our philosophy
Nature gives us nothing but her best! Our hands are only needed to turn this gift of pure grapes into an exceptional wine.
The Valais Excellence label that we were awarded in July 2013 has led us to rethink our company and management. We are very aware of the impact that an agricultural activity such as ours can have on the environment and are convinced that we can reduce it to a minimum with a little organisation.
As practitioners of the saying “there’s strength in numbers”, in 1996 we decided to become a founding member of Fully Grand Cru, a group of winemakers that enjoy a superb collaboration.
A visit
We would be delighted to welcome you to our beautiful wine cellar that dates back to 1726, which has been owned by the family for 200 years. It can be heated and is ideal for wine tastings. Visit us on the cantonal and communal wine-cellar open days, or at other times by arrangement. We recommend contacting us in advance on 027 746 38 16 to ensure that we are able to offer you a proper welcome.

Open cellars doors

Terrace
Local products

Visit of the cellar,Visit of the vineyards

Pratical information

Monday to Friday
Saturday
On appointment
French / German / English
40
Cellar tour / Vineyard tour / Tasting package / Experiencing the harvest
Yes
Yes
Mazembroz

Awarded wines |

  • Medal
    Dénomination du vin
    Year
    Wine variety
    Competition
  • Gamay “Les Mûres”

    2018

    Gamay

    2019

  • Fendant de Fully

    2017

    Fendant (Chasselas)

    2018

Check the Selection des Vins du Valais contest

Historique
Edouard, fondateur de l’entreprise sous l’impulsion de ses fils en 1984, avait comme tout Valaisan un tonneau dans sa cave. Quelques vignes et quelques cultures maraîchère et arboricole: la vie en autarcie était alors synonyme de débrouillardise. Ils se mettent alors à encaver de plus en plus, et l’aîné de la famille conçoit l’étiquette et le logo, toujours utilisés aujourd’hui, quoique revisités.
Philippe et Véronyc, qui ont repris les rênes de l’entreprise en 1996, ont réadapté les cépages aux terroirs et cultivent leurs vignes (environ 8 hectares sur plus de 30 parcelles pour 12 cépages!) en production intégrée, respectueuse de l’environnement.
Notre domaine viticole
• Les Claives, composé de terrasses vertigineuses, a été cultivé par Edouard depuis 1964. Depuis, les cépages ont évolué: c’est là que s’épanouissent la petite arvine, l’ermitage, la syrah.
• La région de Mazembre donne essentiellement du gamay, domaine des Mûres – des vignes de près de 40 ans – mais aussi de la petite arvine. Ce domaine étant situé sur l’éboulis du torrent de Beudon et renfermant une pointe de calcaire, son terroir est fondamentalement différent de celui des Claives.
• Puis il y a Saxon sur la rive gauche… Une partie se trouve sur la route de Sapinhaut, au pied de la Tour, où est produit le pinot noir, le bamaret, le chardonnay et le pinot gris (malvoisie), et le domaine de Ritz avec du pinot noir et essentiellement du fendant.
La grande différence entre les deux rives est l’ensoleillement de septembre, le mois essentiel pour la maturation du raisin. Les cépages précoces ont besoin de douceur et de rayons diagonaux en cette époque, les cépages tardifs nécessitent encore une chaleur intense et beaucoup de lumière. En septembre, le soleil se lève à 11 h à Saxon et à 8 h à Fully…
Notre philosophie
C’est la nature qui nous offre ce qu’elle a de meilleur! Nos mains ne sont là que pour magnifier ce raisin offert d’une rare pureté pour en faire un vin exceptionnel.
La certification Valais Excellence, que nous avons obtenue en juillet 2013, nous a contraints à analyser notre entreprise et notre management. Nous sommes très sensibles à l’impact environnemental d’une activité agricole telle que la nôtre, et sommes persuadés que nous pouvons le réduire au maximum avec un peu d’organisation.
Nous sommes adeptes de l’adage «l’Union fait la force» et cela nous a incités à devenir, en 1996, membre fondateur de Fully Grand Cru, groupement au sein duquel règle une excellente ambiance.
L’accueil
Nous vous accueillons dans un superbe caveau datant de 1726, chauffé et parfaitement adapté à la dégustation, qui appartient à la famille depuis plus de 200 ans. Retrouvez-nous lors des caves ouvertes cantonales et communales ou à votre convenance, sur rendez-vous au 027 746 38 16, afin que nous puissions vous recevoir dans les meilleures conditions possibles!

Caves ouvertes d'automne


01.12.2018, 10:00 - 19:00
Dans le cadre de Fully caves ouvertes, 19 vignerons-éleveurs sont heureux de vous présenter leurs vins à Fully, Saillon et Saxon.

Infos pratiques

Français / Allemand / Anglais
40

 Vins primés |

  • Médaille
    Dénomination du vin
    Millésime
    Cépage
    Concours
  • Fendant de Fully

    2017

    Fendant (Chasselas)

    2018

  • Païen de Fully

    2016

    Païen ou Heida (Savagnin Blanc)

    2017

Voir la Sélection des Vins du Valais